Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Recently I attended my local community’s Pagan Pride Day where I vended my jewelery and other wares and helped man my Grove’s info table. Vending at a festival can make for long day, so I typically bring along something to work on to help pass the time. I had recently made my self an amber “Frigga necklace” with three keys as the focus as part of my growing devotion to Frigga, and I looked to see if I had the materials to make another to sell.  I did have the materials, and I had just selected the keys and started to plan the amber and bone pattern when a woman of my acquaintance from the local Heathen group approached my table. Looking somewhat distraught, she asked me if I had my beading tools with me. I told her that I did indeed–what could I do for her?

She said that her necklace had broken and she asked if I could fix it for her.  I  remembered that she is a devotee of Frigga, and I pushed aside a momentary flash of annoyance at the delay in starting my project and readily agreed to help.  I mean what were the chances that at the very moment I was about to start making a Frigga necklace a devotee of Frigga should come to me and ask me to fix something of hers?  I took the piece, amber, of course, into my hands and began studying the frayed wire that had pulled loose from its crimp, trying to determine if I could fix it without restringing the whole thing.  She said it was important to her that she could wear the necklace for the rest of that day and that if I could simply affect a temporary fix to make it wearable, she would be most grateful.  It was then I noticed the focal piece of the necklace–an exquisitely wrought iron key.  I said, “This is your Frigga necklace, yes?”  She told me that it was indeed, and that the key had been hand-forged for her by a friend after her design.

So just as I was about to start making a necklace symbolizing the goddess Frigga, a goddess with whom I have been building an unlikely alliance over the past year as I am primarily of a Hellenic Hearth, a devotee of Frigga came to me and asked me to fix her Frigga necklace.  It’s not every day that our gods ask service of us so directly.  I worked on fixing the necklace in a state of reverence and wonder, feeling Frigga’s blessing upon the work of my hands.  Any lingering doubts I may have been harboring about working with this Norse goddess so outside my comfort zone fled completely as I handed the repaired necklace back to its grateful owner.

